Move On and Let Go

Moving on from one chapter in your life can be difficult, but starting over with a fresh slate feels much better than trying to hold on to the past. The first time I learned that lesson was when I was 12. My family decided to move from Alabama to Texas and it took me a while to make friends. I held on to my old life in Alabama and there was no room for my new life in Texas. Of course, this is just one of the many times I clenched to the past and tried to keep it from escaping.

I recently came across a great quote on Twitter: “@TheFlamboyante: You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading your last one.” The words really resonated with me and propelled me to move on from the most recent milestone in my life: college.

One of the best ways to open a new chapter and close an old one is to get rid of the physical. When I got majorly screwed over by an employer, I burned his business card; when one of my best friends stabbed me in the back, I trashed some earrings I had borrowed from her and removed her as a friend on Facebook. Actions like these can be very therapeutic. But what can one do to move on from college and prepare for entry into the professional arena? Here’s an idea: sell, donate or repurpose your old clothes.

You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading your last one.

The Flamboyante

Face it: the clothes you wore to the local pub in your college town are not acceptable anywhere else. Please don’t wear them anywhere else. So why not profit off of those old duds or get creative and make something that is acceptable to be work in public. This week, Lush to Blush will explore some ideas and break it down step-by-step to guide you along the process. Get ready to move on and let go!

What helps you move past things in your life?

6 responses to “Move On and Let Go

What do you think?