BB Cream Craze

In what seemed to be overnight, a BB Cream Craze has taken over our country. I first heard about this cream from my aunt and I wasn’t quite sure what to think. What does BB stand for? What does it do? These were just a couple of the questions that ran through my head. Then I started getting emails about it and before I knew it, Sephora’s homepage advertised their favorite BB creams! So I decided to do some research.

The “BB” stands for “beauty balm” or “blemish balm.” BB creams combine five essential functions: they prime, moisturize, treat, protect and conceal. This means that with just one product and one step, you can cut your beauty routine in half! I have always strongly felt that skincare is the first and most important step in beauty. If you don’t have nice skin, it is much harder to create a flawless look. Now, with BB creams, instead of just covering imperfections, we can now treat blemishes while concealing them and protecting our skin from the sun.

When my aunt first told me about BB Creams, it was because she saw the Garnier commercial for it. She finally found it at the store and could not have been happier with the results. For around $10, she found her new favorite beauty product. “I look younger with it!” she excitedly told me. “I usually like a lot of coverage, but this is better than foundation.” She suggested avoiding a sponge for application, as it soaks up the product easily. “It gives you a dewy, sunkissed look without looking too tan. I may quit wearing heavy makeup now because it does cover imperfections, but it looks so natural.” As soon as I heard this, I was sold!

My personal look is very natural, so I don’t like to over-do anything. I don’t want to hide my face, I want to enhance it. So if this miracle cream can work wonders for a woman in her 50s, I think I can give it a shot as well! You can read about another blogger’s experience here and here. I’ll let you know how I like it!

Have you tried BB Creams? What do you think about them?

14 responses to “BB Cream Craze

  1. Obsessed! The Too Faced BB Cream is my favorite, I used it more as a base and put Bare Minerals foundation powder over it. It lasts all day and has definitely enhanced my skin!

    • I use Bare Minerals too so I’m glad they can be used together! I want to try and get a sample from Sephora before splurging, but I don’t know how much longer I can wait!

  2. Pingback: BB Cream 101 & Review « with love, Shmon·

  3. I have not tried it yet, the added tint seemed like too much – another step in my makeup routine. However, now that I am no longer using foundation I think this might be a great addition to my routine. Thanks Lush to Blush for the helpful tip on FB!

    Will follow on Twitter,
    @HymAndHerr

    • I absolutely love my BB Cream! I went with Boscia and it is the only makeup I wear everyday. I look and feel like I don’t have anything on, just naturally flawless skin. I am obsessed!

  4. Pingback: Summer Beauty Look: Natural Glamour | Lush to Blush·

  5. Pingback: Summer Beauty Tutorial: Natural Glamour | Lush to Blush·

What do you think?

