One Stop Thrift Shop

I have been dying to go thrifting for a while now, but could never seem to find the time (or someone fun to go with!), but this morning, I saw a local second-hand store  on my way home from the coffee/bagel shop and I just had to go inside.

I recently moved to a new town, so I am not familiar with the vintage/thrift scene here, but every time I go into this particular one, I find something I love. Last time it was these black and gold flats:

And this time I found a lot more than I expected. First of all, there was this amazing brown satchel with gold chain accents. I saw it as soon as I walked in and I just had to have it! It looks small, but there are three compartments that can hold so much stuff. It is the perfect piece for any season and I can’t wait to wear it!

Next, I must have been in a Spring sort of mood because when I saw the scarf section, I was immediately drawn to two thin, bright colored scarves. They are small, a little larger than handkerchief size, but I know I will get some use out of them. If all else fails, I can easily re-purpose them beautifully!

Then in the jewelry section, my eye was caught by a simple, elegant set of gold and cream earrings. A lot of the earrings at thrift shops are clip-ons, so I was relieved to find out that these weren’t. At $3, they were such a steal! Definitely an everyday go-to.

Finally, I browsed the home section and found some amazingly beautiful china. Those of you who have read my previous posts know how into teacups I am lately! But the price for a cup and saucer was $30 and I know several listed online for much cheaper, so I passed it up. Then I came across a beautiful Victorian silver platter. It was stunning. I am in serious need of some organization and this would be perfect in my bathroom. I can’t wait to set it up.

I remember when I was in high school and middle school, the thought of shopping in a second hand store really freaked me out. I thought that only poor people had to shop for used stuff. But now I realize what the amazing industry can provide. When my sister gets in town, I definitely plan on going on a thrift adventure exploring all the shops in my area. Can’t wait to show you what we find!

Do you shop at thrift stores? What gems have you found?

What do you think?

